The RailStaff Awards 2018

Change Event


Samaritans Lifesaver Award

Sponsored by: Samaritans

View nominees

Do you know someone who has used their communication skills to save a life? Did they spot someone in trouble and use their talking and listening to help them?

Read More…

Do you know someone who should be recognised? If so, we want to hear from you.

Last year's winners of the Samaritans Lifesaver Award was Tek Malla and Purna Gurung from Land Sheriffs

Land Sheriffs Tek Mella and Purna Gurung were called out to a situation at West Worthing station where their professional and sensitive approach helped to save a life. After calling the police, the pair engaged with a distressed male and placed themselves between him and danger in the process until help arrived.

You can see all past winners here.


And the winner is…

Rizwan Javed

MTR Crossrail

Congratulations to the runners-up

Samantha Wood

London Northwestern Railway

The finalists…

Deborah Ward

London Underground Limited

Younes Ould-Hamouda

Arriva Rail London

Samantha Wood

London Northwestern Railway

Simon Barry


Joseph O'Sullivan

Southeastern Railway

Rizwan Javed

MTR Crossrail

Craig Manley

Greater Anglia

Liam Hannington

Southeastern Railway (LSER)

Rohan Palmer

Arrivarl Rail London

Bernadette Lee & David Crump

Govia Thameslink Railway

Sarah-Louise Jenkins

Great Western Railway