The RailStaff Awards 2023

GTR (Govia Thameslink Railway)

Health & Wellbeing Award

Sponsored by: GTR (Govia Thameslink Railway)

View nominees

Poor physical or mental health can destroy lives even faster than a workforce injury.

Read More…

The Health & Wellbeing award is to recognise those who have promoted great practices in this area with innovative and proactive activities and interventions and have enabled people to lead healthier and happier lives as a result.

Let's help save lives and make the industry a healthier and happier place. 

You can see all the past winners here.

Here's how you nominate:

To nominate some one you believe deserves to win this award, first write down in rough what you most admire about the person: cheerfulness, positive thinking, companionship, a person who stands by his/her mates, a person who never misses a day at work, a newcomer who goes out of his or her way to learn and absorb the art of working on the railway. This will help clarify in your own mind why you are going ahead with the nomination. 

Next, write down a specific incident which typifies the qualities you know this person has.

Maybe it was a charity event they helped organise or a late night emergency work session put in to help out a colleague. It could be an act of bravery, rescuing a passenger from an incident; or assisting a foreigner or child who had become lost. Put in the approximate date and location.

This can all be done on the nomination page. Please click 'Nominate Now' above to access this.

Finally, discuss all this with your manager or director. He or she will need to be happy that the nomination can go forward. If as a manager you are proposing a member of staff do, please, make sure they are fully aware of what you are up to and that he or she agrees to be nominated.

RailStaff will contact the person being nominated to check that they are happy to go into the final list being put forward to the judges.


And the winner is…

Congratulations to the runners-up

The finalists…

Sheree Whetren

South Western Railway

Deborah Thomas


Sharon Hershman


Dominic Mottram

Network Rail

Daniel Ball


Martin Riddle


Brian Reece

South Western Railway

Rosie Jhingan


Jeremy Brock

Network Rail

Angus Draper

Transport for London

Karen Parker

GB Railfreight