The RailStaff Awards 2019

telent Technology Services Ltd

Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by: telent Technology Services Ltd

View nominees

Do you know someone who has made amazing achievements in the rail industry? 

This award is to recognise a single individual who has made significant and lasting contributions to the rail industry over the past 20 years.

Read More…

Last years Lifetime Achievement Awards of the year was Scott Harrison, SPX Flow. 

Since joining the industry 20 years ago, Scott has worked his way up to become the global director of rail for one of the world’s largest manufacturing corporations. Throughout his career, he has played a major role in shaping the future direction of the industry, including being heavily involved in the development and implementation of the COSS system.

You can see all past winners here.

Here's how you nominate:

To nominate some one you believe deserves to win a Lifetime Achievement Award, first write down in rough what you most admire about the person: cheerfulness, positive thinking, companionship, a person who stands by his/her mates, a person who never misses a day at work, a newcomer who goes out of his or her way to learn and absorb the art of working on the railway. This will help clarify in your own mind why you are going ahead with the nomination. 

Next, write down a specific incident which typifies the qualities you know this person has.

Maybe it was a charity event they helped organise, a late night emergency work session put in to help out a colleague. It could be an act of bravery, rescuing a passenger from an incident; or assisting a foreigner or child who had become lost. Put in the approximate date and location.

This can all be done on the nomination page. Please click Nominate Now above to access this.

Finally discuss all this with your manager or director. He or she will need to be happy that the nomination can go forward. If as a manager you are proposing a member of staff do, please, make sure they are fully aware of what you are up to and that he or she agrees to be nominated.

RailStaff will contact the person being nominated to check that they are happy to go into the final list being put forward to the judges.

At any stage of the process feel free to contact RailStaff. We can help with advice on how to draft a nomination.


And the winner is…

Ged Mason

Morson Group

Congratulations to the runners-up

Chris Davis

Network Rail

Andrew Fairbank

South Western Railway

The finalists…

Ged Mason

Morson Group

Gwynn Jones

Govia Thameslink Railway

Robert Mooney

G&W UK/Europe Region

Gary Lobue


Michele Ciniero

Alstom Transport UK Ltd

David Lugsden

Network Rail

Roger Nicholas

Colas Rail Ltd

Stewart Marshall

Crosscountry Trains

Gary Fairchild

Network Rail

Girish Jani

Virgin Trains

Bob Dunn

Virgin Trains

Chris Davis

Network Rail

Andrew Fairbank

South Western Railway